Spectrum Bloggers Network: Blogging across the SpLD Spectrum

Spectrum Bloggers Network Blogging across the SpLD Spectrum

Greetings to you all! Thank you very much for checking out Spectrum Bloggers Network!

I created this blog to try to bring together as many blogs on specific learning difficulties as possible in the hope to raise awareness and also to inspire! I started blogging about my experiences with dyslexia and scotopic sensitivity syndrome two months ago and found it quite difficult to promote amongst the hundreds of fashion, make-up and lifestyle blogs across Twitter and Bloglovin. I noticed on a friends blog on her experiences with Fibromyalgia and IC that there was a network of bloggers on the Fibro Bloggers Directory and thought that it would be great if there was something similar for dyslexia!

Very much inspired, I started to piece together Spectrum Bloggers Network last night and decided that it was important to cover ALL specific learning difficulties rather than just focusing on dyslexia. The name is inspired by the idea of an ‘Autistic Spectrum’ but also the spectrum of colours which I sometimes find difficult with scotopic sensitivity syndrome.

This is the very early stages of the blog and I have started looking for blogs to network with via social media. It is going to take some time to build into a flourishing network, so if you would like your blog to feature on here, then please head click the ‘Join the Network‘ or click the tab at the top of the page and fill out the form.

Once there are more blogs (other than my own) I am hoping to start a monthly award for the best blog and also set a weekly topic for those bloggers who like a challenge. If things blossom the way I hope, I will also look at an annual award ceremony with a variety of awards (since everyone seems to love award things pasted on their blogs).

So please spread the word to bloggers you know within our little niche market and let the networking begin!

Thanks again,
Hannah, Founder.

Posted on April 2, 2014, in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on your new blog. It’s great to have a place to connect and discuss. I am a retired special educator of 35 years and author. It’s a great day for autism awareness.

  2. Teaching-Annie

    Hi,
    I am Gina, Annieโ€™s mom, of an exceptionally bright 12 year old, with dyslexia. I am also a homeschooler, and a college instructor. You can follow Annie and I as I discover to teach her in methods where โ€œshe gets it!โ€ Annie continues to develop my skills as an innovative instructor!

    • Hi Gina,
      Your blog is now connected in the dyslexia section of this blog for other people to check out ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks very much. Very interested to see Annie’s progress ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Teaching-Annie

        Thank you and I hope to learn more. I am going to post Annie reading aloud in the next few days. We are now working on her comprehension!

    • An old ‘tried and true’ method I used when teaching sp. ed. was putting a yellow transparent sheet over the printed material. Also you might try covering all but the line she is focusing on. Good luck

      • Yellow doesn’t do much for me, orange and blue work far better ๐Ÿ™‚ I have reading rulers of various colours that help a LOT.

      • It sounds like you are doing an amazing job of exploring teaching techniques.

      • Teaching-Annie

        Thanks for the suggestion, however the colors failed to help her. Annie had trouble following the lines, so I started with double spacing, and slowing decreased the spacing as I taught her to read. She is able to read without using her finger, or ruler. But if she looks up from her reading, she will lose her place!

Leave a Reply

